New Jersey Bankruptcy Attorneys
Under New Jersey law, if money is owed to you as a result of a lawsuit, and you do not receive it, as a creditor, you have a judgment lien. Judgment liens are automatically recorded against any real estate owned by the debtor in New Jersey. Judgments may be levied against personal property, or bank accounts. Additionally you can also request that a special civil part officer sell personal items belonging to the debtor. The debtor would be allowed to keep $1,000 in personal property and clothing. If the debtor does not own more than $1,000 in personal property, this method cannot be used.
Once you have a judgment, wages can be garnished if a debtor works in New Jersey and earns over $217.50 per week.
For more information regarding collection of judgments in New Jersey, call the Law Offices of Hunziker, Jones & Sweeney at (973) 256-0456 or fill out our contact form for a consultation.